Yoga

When we enter the practice of Yoga, we are doing something very different from other human activities. Yoga is a pursuit one simply does for its own sake. It won’t take you anywhere because you cannot go to the place you are now. Yoga is to be completely here and now, to stop the turnings in consciousness. This is what it means to concentrate, to be in your center, to come to your senses. What we call thinking or worrying is nothing more than the mind attempting to catch hold of reality in terms of symbols and definitions. This clutching at thought is the habit Yoga seeks to break in both mind and body.

Being naturally attracted to this sort of philosophy, I took my first Yoga class in 1992 in hopes of being able to live out this ideology. I was also looking for relief from back pain and hoping to reverse the early signs of scoliosis. That first experience of Yoga was one of absolute pain and misery. I often felt much worse after a class than before. I was also so embarrassed to be surrounded by people who obviously didn't have the same problems I did. I couldn't understand why the simple act of sitting was so incredibly difficult and uncomfortable. I was looking to relieve suffering, not increase it!

It was in 1995 that I had my first encounter with the Alexander Technique. The Alexander Technique is a practical way of coordinating mind and body in all activities of living. Instead of relying on the habit of clutching, one learns to consciously choose how the body is used. Practicing the Alexander Technique brings about lighter and freer movements along with an expanded field of attention and awareness. With better coordination comes easier breathing, more comfort in sitting, and greater endurance in concentration. My Yoga practice became something much more enjoyable, something that better resembled the philosophy I had originally been so attracted to.

By bringing Yoga together with the Alexander Technique I hope to provide for my students a gentle experience of stilling the mind and allowing the body to enter a deep state of relaxation. Sitting in meditation can then enable the senses to awaken into the eternal here and now.

Yoga

Wenn wir beginnen, Yoga zu praktizieren, tun wir etwas, das sich vollkommen von normalen menschlichen Aktivitäten unterscheidet. Yoga ist ein Streben um seiner selbst Willen. Es wird uns nicht an ein bestimmtes Ziel bringen, denn Yoga heißt, komplett im Hier und Jetzt zu sein und das ständig arbeitende Bewusstsein zu beruhigen. Einfach in der Konzentration, der eigenen Mitte, den eigenen Sinnen zu verweilen. Wenn wir zuviel nachdenken oder uns sorgen ist das nichts anderes, als der Versuch unseres Geistes, die Realität in Symbolen und Definitionen festzuhalten. Dieses Klammern an Gedanken kann Yoga körperlich und geistig durchbrechen.

Durch diese Art der Philosophie natürlich angesprochen, machte ich 1992 meinen ersten Kurs in der Hoffnung, die Yoga-Ideologie leben zu können. Ich suchte Heilung meiner Rückenschmerzen und meiner beginnenden Wirbelsäulenverkrümmung. Es kam ganz anders: die erste Yogaerfahrung war immens schmerzhaft und enttäuschend. Ich fühlte mich nach dem Kurs meist schlechter als vorher. Zusätzlich verwirrte mich noch, dass die Leute in meinem Kurs offensichtlich nicht dieselben Probleme wie ich hatten. Mir ging überhaupt nicht ein, wie der simple Akt des Sitzens so schwierig und schmerzhaft sein konnte. Ich wollte Schmerz vermeiden, und ihn nicht noch verstärken!

Im Jahr 1995 hatte ich dann meine erste Begegnung mit der Alexander-Technik. Diese Technik ist ein praktischer Weg, Geist und Körper in allen Aktivitäten des täglichen Lebens zu koordinieren. Anstatt an ungesunden Mustern festzuhalten, lernt man, wie man den Körper gesund bewegt. Das Praktizieren der Alexander-Technik bringt nicht nur leichtere und freiere Körperbewegungen, sondern verbessert auch Konzentration und Aufmerksamkeit. Mit besserer Körperkoordination wird die Atmung freier, Sitzen und Bewegen komfortabler und die Konzentration tiefer. Mir verhalf diese Erfahrung zu mehr Spass am Yoga, und eigentlich erst zu dem, was ich mir anfangs von der Yoga-Philosophie erwartet hatte. 

Mit der Kombination von Yoga- und Alexander-Technik möchte ich meinen Schülern eine sanfte Art anbieten, den Geist zu beruhigen und dem Körper eine tiefe Entspannung zu ermöglichen. Mit einer anschließenden Meditation können die Sinne dann im ewigen Hier und Jetzt erwachen.